SLOWING DOWN

Sometimes life can be so busy.  I’ve been intentionally trying to un-busy my own life.  My coworker asked me if I was doing anything fun this weekend, and I smiled big and announced, “Almost nothing!”

Nothing except make these granola bars from Smitten Kitchen.  These things are addictive.  The first time I made them, I went through them so quickly my husband didn’t get to try a single bite!

In my defense, I offered… many times!  He didn’t want any until day 3, and by then, they were long gone.  I might try hiding them in the freezer in single-serving portions so that I have to wait for them to defrost each time I grab one to snack on… if they make it to the freezer in the first place…

So back to slowing down, these granola bars are an easy, relatively healthy, time-saving, eat-on-the-run breakfast.  With the time you save, I hope you are able to slow down too.

DARK CHERRY CHOCOLATE GRANOLA BARS

Adapted heavily from Smitten Kitchen: see link above

(Makes about 20-30 servings)

  • 1 2/3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2  cup  sugar
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dried cherries
  • 1 cups almonds
  • 1/3 cup almond butter
  • 6 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/3 cup corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon water

1.  Line a baking pan with parchment and grease lightly.

2.  Mix dry ingredients together (up to nuts).

3.  Combine melted butter, almond butter, corn syrup and water with a whisk until smooth.

4.  Mix dry ingredients with wet thouroughly.

5.  Turn mixture out onto a lined cookie sheet.  Get  a sheet of plastic wrap and use it to flatten and spread the granola out , making sure to press down firmly so it is evenly packed and about 3/4 inch thick.

6.   Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, cool, and break into pieces.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

